Kano Pillars Massacre Abia Warriors 5-0

first_img* NPFL All-star for Carranza & La Liga tourneyKano Pillars bounced back in style yesterday in the Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) spanking visiting Abia Warriors 5-0. The win has now moved the Sai Masugida into fourth place on 36 points.Elsewhere, league leaders, Wikki Tourists, failed to consolidate in Jos with a  2-0 defeat at Plateau United. Wikki however remains on top of standings on 41 points from 24 matches.In other matches played yesterday, Shooting Stars drew 2-2 with FC IfeanyiUbah. Nasarawa United pipped Niger Tornadoes 1-0 while Sunshine Stars stopped MFM 2-0.In the battle of the brothers, Joshua Obaje’s Plateau United proved the better team in Jos against Wikki, who paraded his younger brother, Godwin Obaje.Pillars skipper Rabiu Ali grabbed a brace with Razaq Adegbite, Bala Zakka and Nafiu Kabuga also on target against Abia Warriors.Abdulrahman Bashir was the match winner for Nasarawa United at the expense of Tornadoes in the first half.Dele Olorundare’s double sunk MFM for Sunshine without trace in Akure.A late rally by visiting IfeanyiUbah saw them pull a draw at 3SC in Ibadan.Meanwhile, An All Stars cast of the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) players will embark on an international friendly tour of Spain as part of the recently signed Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the the League Management Company (LMC) and the Spanish Football League, LaLiga.Chairman of the LMC, Shehu Dikko announced the firming of the plans for the tour after a meeting in Abuja on Friday with LaLiga Africa Representative, Antonio Barradas.He said the NPFL All Stars selected side will play in the Carranza & LaLiga World Tournament and also against Valencia CF. For the Carranza and LaLiga World Tournament, the NPFL All Stars will play Malaga CF on August 12 and 13 but before then, will play their first game in Spain against Valencia CF on August 10.The Ramon de Carranza Trophy is a pre-season tournament organised by Cadiz CF in memory of its former President, Ramon de Carranza. It has been played since 1955 and is rated one of the prestigious summer tournaments in Spain alongside the Teresa Herrera Trophy.Sevilla CF won the inaugural edition in 1955 while Atletico Madrid is the defending champions. Some of the top European and South American teams that have participated in the tournament include 2012 winners, Club Desportivo Nacional and Benfica of Portugal, Sampdoria of Italy, Flamengo and Vasco Da Gama of Brazil amongst others.Share this:FacebookRedditTwitterPrintPinterestEmailWhatsAppSkypeLinkedInTumblrPocketTelegramlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *